Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

11235712Author: Marissa Meyer

Tittle: Cinder

Series: The Lunar Chronicles, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young-Adult

Pages: 214 pages, Ebook

Published: January 3rd, 2012 by Feiwel & Friends (1st published on January 1st, 2012)

Source: Purchased

My rating: ★★★★★


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


My thoughts:

I’m so glad I decided to read this book. I had to, Cinderella is my all time favourite. I haven’t read many fairytale retellings but the ones I’ve read I didn’t like it. But this was serious awsome, I didn’t imagine this could be so epic.

“Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.”

The plot was brilliantly done. I loved New Beijing. Cinder is a citizen of that town where she is a mechanic, under appreciated by her step-mother and one of her step-sisters. The other step-sister, Peony adores her. As a cyborg she doesn’t have the same rights as a normal person and her step-mother goes out of her way to remind Cinder this whenever she can. Oh, she is a very hateful character, how I wanted to bash her face, basically I wanted to strangle her.

Well, one day Prince Kai requests her services to fix his android. And in a true fairy tale kind of fashion he begins to fall for her not knowing she is a cyborg. But this far from a love story. The world has been suffering from a deadly disease that kills in a matter of days and it starts to become painfully obvious that Earth’s only hope for a cure depends on an alliance with the evil Lunar Queen. And as you may have guessed it, she has plans for Earth.

I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.

Cinder is pretty awsome, I love her sarcasm and sense of humour. She is the best mechanic in town but she doesn’t love her life of captivity and wants to run away from the town but then hell breaks loose and her world is turned upside down and she is faced with a hard choice that may change her life, forever.

“Well there are about 200,000 single girls in this city who would fall over themselves to have the privilege.”
A hush passed between them. He wasn’t touching her, but she could feel his presence, warm and overpowering. She could feel the elevator growing hot, despite the fact that her temperature gauge assured her it hadn’t changed.
“Cinder.”
She couldn’t help it. She looked at him. Her defenses withered a bit upon encountering the openness in his brown eyes. His confidence has been replaced with worry. Uncertainty.
“200,000 single girls,” he said. “Why not you?”

*SWOONS*

Kai..oh my, he is charming, handsome and funny. Oh well he is Prince Charming after all. The romance is slow blooming and it has the right amount of build up. Though the romantic factor is not much which is sometimes overpowered by the political factor but I pretty much liked it. It was not too less not too much but it had the perfect amount of everything.

Oh, I loved, loved Iko, she is the android who helps Cinder and also a true friend of hers. She loves to pratice sarcasm and well, she’s quite funny.

“Prince Kai! Check my fan, I think I’m overheating.”

The plot is fast-paced and it definitely has a unique storyline. It gripped me from the very first page. I basically liked everything about this story and I was pretty much running and panting to finish this book, I couldn’t wait to see the ending, which I found out was a cliffhanger and I couldn’t wait to start that next book in this series. The writing is flawless, simple and entertaining and this book is definitely one of my new favourites. So, all in all this was an epic read for me.

Recommend it?

YES, Absolutely. Go and buy this like RIGHT NOW and don’t miss out on the awsomeness.


So, have you read Cinder? Did you like it? What did you think overall about this book? Do share your thoughts!

15 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Oh I love your review! Couldn’t help but smile while reading it. I absolutely adored Cinder! It was such a great read and it was fun with a good amount of seriousness. Kai, I love him so much! I agree about the relationship/love build up. It was well done and the anticipation of when they’ll see each other was so crazy (at least I thought haha). I can’t wait to see what your think of Scarlet and Cress!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

