Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

6931356Author: Kody Keplinger

Tittle: The DUFF

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary

Pages: 164 pages, Ebook

Published: September 7th, 2010 by Little Brown/Poppy (1st published on January 1st, 2010)

Source: Purchased

My rating: ★★★★☆


Blurb (From Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.
Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.


My thoughts:

I was pretty reluctant at first to read this book or not because I found a bunch of mixed reviews, so I was not sure, then I thought hell, what worse could happen if I give it a try! And yep, I wasn’t dissapointed. Surprisingly, I loved this book.

“I actually need your help. You see, your friends are hot. And you, darling, are the Duff.”
“Is that even a word?”
“Designated. Ugly. Fat. Friend,” he clarified. “No offense, but that would be you.”

This above exchange takes place between our narrator Bianca and the notorious manwhore, Wesley Rush. Bianca responds to the insult by doing what any self-respecting woman should do and throwing the nearest beverage into the douchebag’s face. However, being a teenage girl with all the insecurities that go along with that, Bianca can’t quite forget what Wesley called her.

Bianca is snarky, outspoken and is who she is and doesn’t change for anyone. She is also relatable, a good friend and a good daughter. And she is the ‘Duff’ of her group, according to Wesley Rush. So what is a “duff”? A duff isn’t someone who is fat or ugly necessarily, all it means is that out of your group of friends, you may be the least attractive, etc. It’s not a term of endearment, even though Wesley makes it seem that way.

At one point she even realises that being the Duff isn’t so bad after all because:

Benefit one: no point worrying about your hair or make-up
Benefit two: no pressure to act- you’re not the one being watched
Benefit three: no boy drama

(I kinda totally agree with these points.) But then she has issues at home. Her mother is away most of the time and her dad is a recovering alcoholic on the brink of a relapse. With all this happening, Bianca longs for a way to escape. She needs something to take her out of this world, numb her mind and make her forget who she is for a little while so she sleeps with none other than – you guessed it – Wesley Rush.

I loved the inner workings of her mind, they were so funny and opinionated. Her reasons to start hanging with Wesley were wrong from the beginning, but she never once forgot that fact. Hiding it from her friends, attempting to escape reality, and scrutenizing others that were basically doing the same thing as her, she was in no position to judge…yet she did, repeatedly. She even agreed to herself that she being a hypocrite. And that’s where I think a lot of people might have had a problem with her-but I didn’t. I kind of thought realistic and okay because not for once she forgot what she was doing.

And Wesley, I loved him. He was cocky, quirky, arrogant and sexy.

“Spanish, huh?” he said, glancing down at the scattered papers as he grabbed them. “Can you say anything interesting?”
“El tono de tu voz hace que queria estrangularme.” I stood up and waited for him to hand over my papers.
“That sounds sexy,” he said, getting to his feet and handing me the stack of Spanish work he’d swept together. “What’s it mean?”
“The sound of your voice makes me want to strangle myself.”
“Kinky.”

Another one:

I jerked out from under Wesley’s hand and spun to face him, gripping my pencil like a dart and aiming it right at his Adam’s apple.
He didn’t even flinch. His gray eyes examined the pencil with feigned curiosity and he said, “Interesting. Is this how you greet all the boys you like?”
“I don’t like you.”
“Does that mean you love me, then?”

And sometimes damn funny. There were quite a few times where I laughed out loud.

Wesley and Bianca’s not so much friends with benefit’s relationship was something that developed over time. At first, it was just physical. A way to escape what they were both going through, but with time, feelings developed. Both characters realized they cared and Bianca realizes that she’s doing the unthinkable. She is falling for Wesley Rush. Yes, I do agree it was pretty much cliché how everything felt into the right places in the end but oh well a girl can dream.

Oh, I do need to mention Bianca’s bffs- Casey and Jessica. They were seriously pretty awsome. I personally loved Casey more, she was always supporting Bianca, she always pushed her not to bottle things up and open up to them, even when they were fighting she didn’t hesitate once when Bianca called her in the early morning to rescue her from Wesley’s house. Reading about this two bffs made me wish I had friends like this in high school. When Casey learned from Bianca about the duff thingy, she considers herself a duff because despite being perfect from Bianca’s point, none of them could score a date. 😛

The DUFF was a light, fun read, I enjoyed it. The writing style is simple and pretty good, a 17 year old wrote this, can you believe it? When am I going to write?! Well, I didn’t feel bored even for a second. You do have to remember that’s it has a cliché factor before reading this book, if you are okay with it then that it’s might be a breezy read for you as it was to me.

Recommend it?

Yeep!


Changed my review style a bit. Going to do reviews with this format from now on.

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Did you like it or hate it?

5 thoughts on “Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Leave a Reply

