Review: Inferno by Dan Brown

17305367Author: Dan Brown

Tittle: Inferno

Series: Robert Langdon series, book 4

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Pages: 461, Hardcover

Published: May 14th, 2013 by Doubleday (1st published on January 1st, 2013)

Source: Purchased

My rating: ★★★★☆

I woke up in the morning one day and read in the newspaper that a new novel by Dan Brown was up for pre-order. Firstly, I jumped and squealed a lot and then after I calmed down I placed my order. Heck, I couldn’t wait to read this book and you know what, it was worth it. I absolutely loved this book.

This time it starts in the middle of a real Inferno.

‘Seek and ye shall find.’

With these words echoing in his head, eminent Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon awakes in a hospital bed with no recollection of where he is or how he got there. Nor can he explain the origin of the macabre object that is found hidden in his belongings. This time we have an improbably clever, beautiful and resourceful young doctor, Sienna Brooks, and together they dash through museums and various destinations like Florence, Venice and Istanbul as they prevent to attempt a brilliant scientist from bringing the end of the world.

With only a few lines from Dante’s dark and epic masterpiece, The Inferno, to guide them, decipher a sequence of codes buried deep within some of the most celebrated artefacts of the Renaissance sculptures, paintings, buildings to find the answers to a puzzle which may, or may not, help them save the world from the terrifying threat. From the very first page, a chain of events starts to take place at a fast pace.

It’s a hell of a plot. It’s based on a theory by the 19th century Malthus, predicted the real current chaos of the global over population and it’s consequences. The mad scientist is a Dante super fan who takes theatrical delight in referring to himself as The Shade and is hell bent to bring about a great Renaissance for humanity, a reawakening similar to the one that occured following the Black Plague.

There are major twists and turns and the revelations are quite SHOCKING. The plot twist, yeah that one, is superb. You think you know what is going to happen and then BAMN! I was left with my mouth hanging open, literally.

Again, one of the things I love about his books are the vivid descriptions of the historical places, art and architecture. They may seem like a drag to some but I thoroughly enjoy it. I have never got the chance to go anywhere abroad and while reading his books, I feel like I’m there. His writing is cinematographic and kept me at the edge of till I turned the final page.

Dan Brown is often criticized that all his books are written in the same manner. Personally, I don’t find that to be a disadvantage. Yes, he uses the same formula but this isn’t necessarily bad and it doesn’t mean all his novels are the same. Many great authors have done the same before.

But this book, it totally took a new turn. I was in a major dilemma on whose side to take. I can’t explain in brief without spoiling the book but the theory and it’s answers scared me. My own choice scared me. If I try to explain further, you all will be confused, so find out for youself.

In this book, Dan Brown uses detailed knowledge of art, symbols and Dante’s ‘The Divine Comedy’ and combines mystery, history and science in an outstanding way and creates an action packed thriller you can’t put down.

Recommend it?

Absolutely!


 

Have you read this book? Did it kept you on the edge like me? What did you think about it? On whose side were you on?

Do let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Review: Inferno by Dan Brown

  1. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award & The Summer Reader Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

