Review: Sweet Reckoning (Sweet Trilogy, book 3).

Sweet Reckoning (The Sweet Trilogy, #3)Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins

Genre: Paranormal, Young-Adult

Pages: 379 pages, Paperback

Published: April 29th, 2014 by Harper Teens

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sweet Reckoning is SIMPLY PERFECTION.

According to the prophecy, Anna is destined to free the Nephilims and rid the world of demons. But when presented with a choice will she choose her love for Kaidan or saving the world?

In the last and final installment of the Sweet trilogy, the stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.

The book started calmly, hinting the dangers that lurked around the corners but I didn’t except the twists that kept on happening which I definitely loved, they were unexpected and they put in me awe. Kai and Anna matured so much. The romance was SWEET GOODNESS that I really, really loved. My heart broke for Kaidan who suffered throughout the books. He is truly worthy of the “hero” status. He’s sexy as hell, charming and strong, I couldn’t stop swooning over him. But sometimes even his will-power shook when it came to Anna’s safety but she proved to be a strong-willed woman.

“Stop!” I pinned him with a serious look. “No more. Get it out of your head, Kai! We are not running. This is happening whether you like it or not. It’s time to get your game face on and get ready to kick some ass.”
-Anna

I loved the friendship bond between the Nephilims and how they stuck with each other till the end- Blake, Ginger, Marna, Zania, Kope were amazing and even Jay.

 

 

SPOILER (READ AT YOUR OWN RISK)

Can we please talk about Patti’s sacrifice? I really loved her from the first moment she was introduced, she was so sweet and caring. Her death was brutal, I literally had to stop reading for 15-20 minutes before I could stop crying and finish the rest of the book. But Anna handled it very maturely but my heart broke for her.

SPOILER END

 

 

The plot was intense, unpredictable and fast-paced. The writing was amazing as usual. There were sad things that happened and I ended up crying but the ending was worth it. This book is the best for me, one of the best series enders ever! Packed with action, good and bad, sexiness, I ended up reading it in a a day. The author has the ability to write steamy scenes without completely fading to black or being explicit. Lastly, I was sad to let go of the all the characters but it was an amazing journey for me. I highly recommend this series to people who love reading paranormal, young-adult genre.

 

It ends with a beautiful note-

“Life was often so cruel, so ugly. And then, in the midst of all the madness, a precious gift would be placed in your lap. Because life could also be so sweet.”

Leave a Reply

