Review: Sweet Evil (Sweet Trilogy, book 1).

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Genre: Paranormal, Young-Adult

Pages: 447 pages, Paperback

Published: May 1st, 2012 by Harper Teens

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sweet Evil is R-A-V-I-S-H-I-N-G-L-Y sweet.

It’s a story about the sons and daughters of fallen angel whose lives literally depended on bad influences. Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna. She is forced to face her destiny,and make the ultimate decesion whether she would embrace her halo or her horns.

All the characters are really well described and the plot is fast paced. Anna is a beautiful and strong protagonist. She knows from the start what she wants. When she learns the truth about herself and her fate, she doesn’t run for the hills but bravely accepts her fate and readies herself to face it. She is genuinely afraid when she has to meet Pharzuph who is the duke of lust as well as Kaidan’s father as she tries to hide her fears:

“I followed Kaidan up the stairs, attempting to convince myself that having tea with a demon and his knife-slinging son was nothing to be scared about.”

Kaidan, the ultimate swoon-worthy hero of the book. He is gorgeously handsome and dangerous. There is not a thing I don’t like about him, infact love about him, specially when he does the “bedroom-eye” thing. And true to Anna’s words he is:

“Good gracious, he was sexy—a word that had not existed in my personal vocabulary until that moment. This guy was sexy like it was his job or something.”

Another character that I genuinely love is Patti, Anna’s adoptive mother. She is full of care, love and affection, I loved her the moment I read about her. She knows from the start that Anna is something special and when she learns all about the truth she decides to let Anna go to the cross country trip with Kaidan, she is religious and she trusts her daughter but although she is a bit reluctant at first, she knows Anna is a part of something bigger and she must not stop it and finally with a little reassurance, she allows it but not before warning Kaidan:

“I know I’m just a human woman, but so help me, if anything happens to her while she’s with you—”
“I assure you she’ll be in good hands.”
“Mm-hm, that’s part of what I’m worried about.” She pointed at his hands. “Hands off, mister.”

I am completely enamoured by Sweet Evil, a huge thanks to my friend Nada who recommended me this series. I was not bored for a second, once I started it, I simply couldn’t put it down and ended it reading within a day and a half. The plot is very original and holds the reads to their seats until the final page is turned. Although the ending of this book is bittersweet, I had hope because there were two others books to go in this series. The author uses a simple language which the readers can be an ease with and OH-MY the tini tiny details she used to describe the steamy scenes. They were literally awsome! So, last but not the least, I loved this book and I definitely recommend it to the others.

2 thoughts on “Review: Sweet Evil (Sweet Trilogy, book 1).

  1. I’ve wanted to start this series for such a long time but the angel thing kind of scares me of a bit. I really liked the sound of it in your review though, so I’ll reconsider and put it on the to-read list 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

