Review: Dark Lover (Black Dagger brotherhood, book 1).

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Genre:  Paranormal, Young-Adult

Pages: 393 pages, Paperback

Published: September 6th, 2005 by Penguin Group (USA)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Dark Lover was a disappointment for me. I didn’t enjoy it as I thought I would because of the Goodreads ratings. I was actually bored out of my mind.

The story takes place in Caldwell, New York, where there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood. Beth is the only purebred vampire left on earth who is unaware of this truth. Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate, it comes upon Wrath to usher her into the world of the undead, a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

The plot structure and the characters didn’t have much depth. Everything escalated pretty quickly. The description of Wrath, it was like he was being described as a building not as a being. Pretty much everyone was described as perfect and flawless, it was stereotypical. And too much use of the word “baby”, I mean what was wrong with those people! It felt so weird to read that, most of them were referring to the other as that. So damn weird! The steamy scenes were okay but not that great either, there was no build up of the romance and those scenes just happened anyways.

I was definitely struggling to finish this book but finally I did. After my experience from this book, I am not starting any other from this series. Reason: Everything’s very much cliché.

7 thoughts on “Review: Dark Lover (Black Dagger brotherhood, book 1).

  1. I thought of this book as okay back then (I was young and didn’t know any better!), so I read… hm… maybe for or five in total? Anyway, I had the feeling every book was the same like the one before. The main pairing changed but you only knew that because of the names, so to say.
    So not reading more of this series? Good choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

