Review: Heidi.

Heidi (Heidi, #1)Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Genre: Classic, Children’s literature, Young-Adult

Pages: 352 pages, Hardcover

Published: 1880

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Heidi is undoubtedly one of my favourites since I was a kid. I have read it so many times that I have lost count.

It’s a wonderful story of an orphan girl named Heidi who brings sunshine into the lives of all those she meets. She comes to stay with her grandfather in a log cabin in the mountains of Switzerland. The Swiss alps, the pastures, the fields of daisies have been elaborately and beautifully described. She is later taken away by her relatives to stay in the city of Frankfurt which she hates so much. Despite making a new friend, she longs to return back to her grandfather, the beautiful mountains and her carefree life and one day her dream finally comes true.

Heidi is indeed a wonderful story. The protagonist is a small child but she is the charm of the story, she is intelligent and endearing, she loves adventures and has a thirst to know about new things. Her love for the goats, Peter and his grandmother shows her pure heart. She always listens to her heart specially after the advice of Clara’s grandmother and starts praying regularly.

But I would like to point out something here, I would have liked it even more if there was more emphasis on the bonding between Heidi and her grandfather. It has been beautifully depicted on the tv show but not that much in the book. Other than that, it is simply flawless.

However, as much as I hate to drink milk but this story makes me want to drink goat milk and sleep on the soft rugs. It always manages to make me cry when she feels all alone at Frankfurt and wants nothing else other than to return back. Most of all, whenever I feel low, this story always manages to restore my faith in God and humanity. So, this is definitely a must read for everybody.

Leave a Reply

