Review: Coraline.

CoralineCoraline by Neil Gaiman

Genre: Horror-fantasy, modern-classic

Pages: 162 pages, Paperback

Published: Jan 1st, 2002 by William Morrow Paperbacks

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

I found out about this book and the author itself while I was exploring Goodreads.com . The name and the cover immediately caught my attention as I clicked on it to learn more about it. I haven’t read any horror books for some time and the summary seemed creepy and appealing to me and within a few days I buyed this book. And I am glad to say I was definitely not disappointed.

Coraline is a short but delightfully creepy and a dark book. Coraline, who everyone mistakenly calls Caroline, moves into a big old house which was once a large estate, but now divided into flats. Her parents can’t spare any time for her as they are mostly busy doing their boring works. While Coraline gets bored within a short span of time as there is not much to explore as she wants something new, an adventure, even if it might be dangerous. Finally she finds a mysterious door which sometimes appear to have been enclosed with a brick wall seperating their house from the other flats and sometimes it appears to have a passageway, which is actually leading to the other world. She decides to explore the mysterious passgeway and from this her adventure actually begins.
Coraline-Movie
The character of Coraline is clever, curious, quirky, determined adventurous and not afraid of danger. Although she is only a child but she is mature enough which is proven in this line-

“I don’t want whatever I want. Nobody does. Not really. What kind of fun would it be if I just got everything I ever wanted just like that, and it didn’t mean anything? What then?”

The story is intense yet fun with an equally mixture of creepiness. I especially loved the conversation between Coraline and the cat who had an equally important part in this story. Neil Gaiman uses a simple language which makes this story much more delightful to read. This book was indeed creepy. I couldn’t put it down once I started and finished it at one go. All in all, I enjoyed this book throughly and loved every bit of this modern fairy tale.

It is indeed-
“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”

Leave a Reply

